

NEWS RELEASE

October 9, 2018 For Immediate Release Contact: Myra Stoney, Director – 308-345-4223

Radon Poster Contest Kicks Off In Southwest Nebraska

McCook – Southwest Nebraska Public Health Department urges youth ages 9 to 14 to participate in the annual radon poster contest. The contest works to educate youth about the dangers of radon exposure.

"This is a fun way to get kids excited about radon education," states Joy Trail, Program Assistant. "The kids' artwork is wonderful and they have a great time doing it."

Radon is the second leading cause of lung cancer in the United States and the leading cause of lung cancer in nonsmokers. It is a colorless, odorless and tasteless gas that enters homes and buildings through the breakdown of uranium in the soil and cannot be detected unless it is tested. In Nebraska, one out of every two homes tested has a high radon level.

Artwork Must Meet the Following Requirements:

- On white paper preferred size is 12 x 18 or 8.5 x 11 but all submission sizes will be accepted.
- Can be created with crayon, markers, paint (watercolor, acrylic, etc.), collage, pencil, photographs or computer graphics.
- Be original (please do not copy previous National, State or Local winning posters).
- Must not have the student's name on the front.
- Include a title on the front.
- Topic and title must be on the Artwork Submission Form.
- Lettering and message should be large enough to reproduce well, with all pencil markings erased.
- Copyrighted characters (such as Disney, Marvel Comics, Nebraska Huskers, any sports teams), product logos and trademarked or brand names cannot be used.

The deadline for submission is November 30, 2018. Prizes will be given to the top 3 posters in three age groups: 9-10, 11-12 and 13-14.

For more information on the radon poster contest visit <u>www.swhealth.ne.gov</u> or call the McCook office at 308-345-4223. The office is located at 404 West 10th Street, one block north of Arby's. You can follow us on Facebook and Twitter. The health department serves Chase, Dundy, Hayes, Hitchcock, Frontier, Furnas, Keith, Perkins and Red Willow counties.